The Blue Island

Even though today is dank and dreary, I’ll still do my daily hike through the forests and hills that surround my little house – as good a place as any for hiding from policemen. As I’ve said in previous postings, I do these hikes to stay in shape, so to delay to the utmost the moment when I must Cross Over.

How will it be when I Cross Over? I ask myself this well-nigh every day, since, at 118, I can expect to Cross Over at any time. Will I continue in another form, or will I simply no longer be, and will therefore go back to how it was before I was born?

There was a man, a quite well-known journalist, who was on the Titanic when it sank in 1912 – an event I still remember reading about in the newspapers, and listening while my Mater and Pater and the other grownups excitedly talked about it. Anyway, no more was ever seen of this man, this journalist, so he must have drowned. However, a spiritualist in London some years after, began getting telepathic messages from this drowned man, that told of his life after he drowned.

This man, after he plunged into the cold inky waters of the Atlantic, suddenly felt like he was whooshing swiftly upwards. He found himself in a very pleasant place, a land enveloped in a faint bluish haze. He appropriately called it The Blue Island. There, he met again his dead father and other dead men he had known when he was still bodily alive.

All in all, this drowned man when he sent his telepathic messages, was loving it on the Blue Island, and wished not ever to go back to Earth, even though he had had a good life. I’ll not speak more of this drowned man’s life on the Blue Island, for, if you’re interested, you can read about it elsewhere on the Internet. And if you do, you’ll see that the Blue Island is the sort of place you’ll be happy to go to after you yourself finally breathe your last.

Where I now live, on the Pacific Rain Coast, I often find myself during my daily forest hikes, high up on mountainsides where I can look down on the world far below, which is usually beneath a bluish haze, much as described in The Blue Island of the drowned Titanic passenger.

So, should I myself go to the Blue Island when I Cross Over, I may find things there not much different to how I find things now, except I’ll not likely have policemen looking for me, for, if the drowned Titanic passenger is to be believed, the Blue Island is so peaceful, it wouldn’t need policemen.

This entry was posted in Writing.

16 comments on “The Blue Island

  1. Cheri says:

    I like the phrase “Crossing Over,” because it makes me feel as if there is somewhere else to go after we die.

    Did you know the Titanic sank close to the coast of Halifax? When we were there several years ago (during that freak Hurricane in August of 2009), we went through a museum on the Halifax port which had all kinds of memorabilia (my dad used to have fun with that word by calling it “mem-or-aaab-lee-ah”) on the Titanic.

    I don’t think I ever really looked at a map to see where it went down.

  2. Christopher says:

    The case for a continuance of some kind after bodily death is supported by the notion that our memories and consciousnesses may reside outside our bodies.

    Think only of the fact that our Men of Science, who assert that memories and consciousness reside in the brain, can’t find where in the brain they are. Well, how about that they’re outside somewhere?

    Experiences like the Near Death Experience (NDE) and phenomena like telepathy, strongly suggest that mind and body are separate. If so, when our bodies die, the non-bodily part of ourselves may continue.

    • Cheri says:

      This would relate to Jung’s notion of the collective unconscious, I believe.

      • Christopher says:

        Jung’s collective unconscious postulates, as far as I remember, that there’s a consciousness, a common one, that we all can tap into, and often do.

        So it’s different from the individual consciousness, that no-one other than the particular individual can tap into.

        As to where the collective and individual consciousnesses reside, if each individual consciousness, with its associated individual memories, resides out there in the ether, the collective consciousness, common to us all, would, logically, reside out there in the ether too.

  3. Man of Roma says:

    That spirit, mind or a consciousness may be transcendent ie entirely ‘separate’ from any material universe, is an idea that fascinates persons of a certain age.

    Some English-speaking writers of Sci-Fi novels (from England and from the US) are inspiring from this point of view. They attain a high literary and philosophical plane, according to critics and, more humbly, to myself. They ‘touch onto something’, with the advantage of being much easier to grasp than the German philosophers.

    It is possible that the depths of time and space, the reasons for the immensity, the magnitudes of the cosmos can be only intuited by our primitive minds.

    They will be really be understood “by beings of a more ample nature”, that is by the men of a distant future in case homo Sapiens survives and evolve (in something better, which is not granted).

    I have an Extropian or Transhuman friend with whom I talk(ed) about these topics.

  4. Christopher says:

    On my other blog I did a posting on *this subject* that you may find of interest.

  5. Pierre says:

    Vous n’avez pas écrit sur ​​votre blog depuis plus d’un mois. J’espère que vous n’êtes pas mort.

    Si vous n’êtes pas mort, permettez-moi de vous dire que j’aime votre blog. C’est plutôt unique, et vous êtes plutôt unique aussi.

    Quel dommage que vous êtes obligé de cacher votre identité réelle afin d’échapper la police. Sinon, vous pourriez faire beaucoup d’argent. Parce que vous êtes probablement le plus vieil homme du monde, et que vos facultés semblent encore intact, vous serait une grande curiosité sur les TV talk-shows Americain.

  6. Jeremy says:

    Merci, Pierre, pour votre souci à propos ma santé et pour lire ce blog. Je suis très bien, merci. Ma santé est probablement mieux maintenant que la santé de la plupart des hommes de nombreuses décennies plus jeune que moi. Je ne veux pas me vanter de ça, parce que je suis continuellement conscient que je pourrais mourir à tout moment.

    La raison que je n’ai pas écrit depuis si longtemps est simple. Je n’ai pas envie d’écrire rien. C’est tout. Cependant, le besoin d’écrire de nouveau est en train de croissant. Par conséquent, je m’attends que je vais écrire un autre morceau bientôt.

    Ecrivant de votre commentaire en français, vous sans doute aviez supposé que je sais le français parce que j’été instruite à l’époque où les garçons ont dû apprendre au moins une langue étrangère, généralement le français.

    Mais les garçons alors, généralement ajoutérent d’autres langues à leur programme d’études, comme le latin, le grec, ou l’allemand. Moi-même, en plus du français, je appris le latin et l’allemand.

    Vous avez raison de dire que je pourrais faire beaucoup d’argent en paraissant sur les TV talk-shows Americain. Toutefois, l’hôte de talk-show, et le public, seraient secrètement se moquer de moi, à l’instar ils aiment à se moquer de tout curiosité, si un très vieil homme, un singe, ou toute autre chose.

  7. Midge says:

    I noted this in your piece: “………he met again his dead father and other dead men he had known when he was still bodily alive…….”

    May I assume the Blue Island is a men-only realm? If so, where do we women go when we ourselves breathe our last?

  8. Jeremy says:

    I noted this too, and also noted – although I didn’t say so in the piece – that animals also appeared to reside on the Blue Island.

    Were these only male animals? The deceased Titanic passenger didn’t say.

    Assuming we take to the Blue Island the essences of ourselves as we were when we breathe our last, with the beliefs and values we hold at that moment, it would follow that this deceased Titanic passenger – as a man of the 19th century when women didn’t count – may have considered any women he encountered on the Blue Island, too inconsequential to talk about.

  9. Rachel says:

    Despite your blog being called “Jeremy’s Books and Films” and that on your profile page you say in so many words that its raison d’etre is to talk of books and films you like, you appear to write precious little about them.

    You should, then, change your blog’s title to something more appropriate, and, on your profile page, be more truthful about this blog’s raison d’etre, which appears to be to talk about what you get up to.

    • Jeremy says:

      Tu as raison, Rachel.

      The thing is, I began this blog eight years ago when I was younger, and much different, Google was younger too, and much less developed, and much different too.

      Although a centenarian, I’m still changing inwardly, incredible as it may seem to an undoubted young whipper-snapper like you, who – if you’re typical of the young whipper-snapper – think of all old men as unchanging bores. But I get bored with never changing what I like to write about. I feel sure it’s like this with you.

      I became bored with re-hashing books and films I enjoyed, because anyone can now read what they’re about by means of Google.

      This isn’t to say I won’t write about books or films, but I want more now to write about me, and how I feel, as well as what I do. Had I begun this blog now, I might call it, “With Fist and Gun”. Of course, I could still change this blog’s title to that, but it wouldn’t correspond with the URL. So, “Jeremy’s Books and Films” it’ll stay.

  10. Peggy says:

    I find your blog intriguing. 118 and still going strong. Amazing.

    However, after reading many of your posts I get the impression that despite your age you never really grew up. Would you agree?

Leave a Reply

