The Cross of Loneliness

For the umpteenth time since I began this blog in early 2006, I’m confirming I haven’t died yet, and so am very much alive. Were I merely a 70 year-old or an 80 year-old, I wouldn’t feel I have to keep reiterating – after a long absence away from this blog – that I’m still alive.

The fact is, however, that I’m now a 120 year-old. This makes me arguably the world’s oldest man. I’m prepared to admit, though, that I may not be the world’s oldest person, because, as anyone who isn’t a half-wit knows, those of the fair sex – which is to say, women – live much longer than us men.

This is because women have always had it much easier than us men, even though today they go out to work more than they used to. When I was a boy they (women). had it particularly easy. When at school a girl didn’t have to worry about studying hard in order into to pass exams so she could get a good job when she left school. She just had to look pretty and learn how to charm young men, the better that one of them would take her to wife.

On becoming a wife she would just stay home and have babies and look after them, and visit with her friends everyday for nice talks about babies and cooking and whatnot, while her husband went out to work every day and worked so hard that he died much earlier than she did.

If her husband didn’t die from having to work so hard so she could stay home and have a good time, he died on some battlefield somewhere. Men have always found a way to die early, and women have always found a way to die late. Even today, when lots of women are going out to work and working as hard as us men do, they (women) are still finding ways to die later than us.

Why is this? The answer may lie in this passage from *a book by a psychologist* I’ve just read, in which he said:

“……When speaking to women’s groups, I have suggested that women should look at men this way: if they took away their own network of intimate friends, those with whom they share their personal journey, removed their sense of emotional guidance, concluded that they were almost wholly alone in the world, and understood that they would be defined only by standards of productivity external to them, they would then know the inner state of the average man……..”

Even though, as a 120 year old man, I’m necessarily very alone because my family and friends are all long dead, I have always felt very alone. I know my fellow men well enough to know that this goes for all of them too. From the moment we’re born, we’re condemned to stagger under a cross of loneliness that those of the fair sex – which is to say, women – can’t even imagine.

This entry was posted in Writing.

2 comments on “The Cross of Loneliness

  1. Richard says:

    Are we not all alone in the end, sometimes never more so than when in company?

    I less so with emotional guidance such as yours.

  2. Jeremy says:

    I’m flattered that you would stoop to resume reading my little outpourings after my extended rest.

    I find writing these outpourings to be………cathartic? This word, for someone of my generation, is something of a neologism.

    As you astutely said, one is never more alone than when in company, – particularly the company of those with whom one has nothing in common – a state of affairs which, for a man of my age, is almost always.

    The reality of loneliness when in the company of others is no doubt why the psychologist I quoted, said also that the cure for loneliness is solitude.

Leave a Reply

