A Mendicant or A Monk

I attended last night in a church hall a book-signing talk by a Mr Graham Hancock, about how the version of human history drummed into the heads of all of us from when we were in school is nearly all nonsense.

Being so old, I don’t often now go to talks like this one, where there are lots of other people. It’s because I feel so conspicuous, for most people at talks or social functions anywhere, are many decades younger than my 120 years. I’m increasingly aware of this, even though inside I feel no older than fifty. But, in appearance I know I look older. And, how much older? What must those at any gathering think when they see me sitting among them?

Anyway……..back to Mr Graham Hancock.

Having read some of his previous books, I wasn’t surprised at what he said last night, which was roughly the summary of his new book, “The Magicians of the Gods”, that you can learn about if you *click here*. I, for my part, intend to read “The Magicians of the Gods”, for Mr Hancock’s previous books – in particular his “The Fingerprints of the Gods” – have helped win me to the point of view that what I learned in school – which I think is what we all learned in school – about human history, is nearly all nonsense.

My researches in other areas of knowledge throughout the years since I retired from being an active General, have convinced me also that what we’re told by experts about everything else, is nearly all nonsense. Because this “everything else” comprised most of the beliefs that sustained me and gave purpose to my life, my belief system has in fact crashed. One of my esteemed readers has now caused me to believe that this was reflected in the crashed car-like tangled metal that featured in my dream that I spoke of in my *previous posting*.

Crashed-car, crashed belief-system. It does make logical sense.

Had I known when young that everything we’re told is true by teachers and experts, is in fact mostly nonsense, my life would have been much different. For one thing, I could never have become a General, because to become a General you must believe the things that every one else believes. If you don’t, it means you’re not like everyone else, that you’re different – something you shouldn’t be if you want to get on in life. And you don’t get on in life much better than becoming a General.

In retrospect, then, I’m now grateful I swallowed unthinkingly all I was told was true by my teachers and all the experts. If I hadn’t swallowed it all, what would I have become? A mendicant? Or maybe a monk? There aren’t many other avenues open if you’re not like everyone else.

11 comments on “A Mendicant or A Monk

  1. Monique says:

    Tu avais dit dans ton affichage précédente, que l’épave de la voiture était une représentation de la mort – donc ta propre mort

    Mais, dans cet affichage, tu dis que l’épave de la voiture est une représentation de l’épave de ton système de croyance.

    Est-ce que tu veut dire que ton interprétation originale était incorrecte?

    • Jeremy says:

      Tu as l’esprit très logique, Monique. Tu es peut-être une avocate?!!!

      Et tu es intuitif aussi, parce que tu as senti que j’ai la connaissance du français. Ton intuition féminine sans doute!!!

      D’après tout ce que j’ai lu, un rêve peut avoir significations différentes à niveaux différents.

      Donc je pense que les deux significations sont bonne.

  2. Richard says:

    Any youth who aspires to the successful conduct of his life listens to the wisdom of one who is twice the age of his grandfather. Every word bears invaluable information for the long road ahead, its many twists, turns and potholes.

    Today you leave me with a dilemma, sir. Do I heed your advice? Do I believe Mr Hancock’s case for hallucinogenic drugs?

    Or do I emulate the attentiveness shown by Lewis Carroll, now 173, to a monk, his priest:

    “You are old, Father William,” the young man said,
 
    “And your hair has become very white;

    And yet you incessantly stand on your head—
 
    Do you think, at your age, it is right?”

    
”In my youth,” Father William replied to his son,
 
    “I feared it might injure the brain;

    But now that Im perfectly sure I have none,
 
    Why, I do it again and again.”

    “You are old” said the youth, “as I mentioned before,
 
    And have grown most uncommonly fat;

    Yet you turned a back-somersault in at the door—
 
    Pray, what is the reason of that?”

    
”In my youth,” said the sage, as he shook his grey locks,
 
    “I kept all my limbs very supple

    By the use of this ointment—one shilling the box—
 
    Allow me to sell you a couple?”

    “You are old,” said the youth, “and your jaws are too weak
 
    For anything tougher than suet;

    Yet you finished the goose, with the bones and the beak—
 
    Pray, how did you manage to do it?”

    
”In my youth!” said his father, “I took to the law,
 
    And argued each case with my wife;

    And the muscular strength, which it gave to my jaw,
 
    Has lasted the rest of my life.”

    “You are old,” said the youth; “one would hardly suppose
 
    That your eye was as steady as ever;
    
Yet you balanced an eel on the end of your nose—
 What wade you so awfully clever?”

    
”I have answered three questions, and that is enough,”
 
    Said his father; “don’t give yourself airs!

    Do you think I can listen all day to such stuff?
 
    Be off, or I’ll kick you down stairs!”

    • Jeremy says:

      “…..Do I believe Mr Hancock’s case for hallucinogenic drugs?….”

      I believe you should. Hallucinogenic drugs are an invaluable means to find out who one really is by widening one’s doors of perception through exploring one’s own consciousness.

      The State, by outlawing hallucinogens, decrees that one can’t do this, thereby depriving its citizens of the basic human right to explore their own consciousnesses in the way they see fit. In a true democracy the State has no business in the medicine closets of the nation.

      • Richard says:

        To what extent, I wonder, is the urge to kill drug-induced? Is not the word ‘assassin’ derived from members of a mediaeval Islamic sect who were under the influence of hashish?

      • Jeremy says:

        What’s the point you wish to make?

      • Richard says:

        You rightly admonish me (if that is your intent), sir, for I have wondered enough.

        If one citizen harms another then the state’s intervention is proper. If a cause can be identified it intervenes to eliminate the cause. If hallucinogenic drugs cause citizens (or others) to kill one another, (and the possible origin of the term “assassin” suggests as much) intervention is justified.

        Whatever “… the human right to the exploration of consciousness … ” may mean, prevention of possible harm prevails.

        I ask, sir, does Mr Hancock have similar priorities? If not, I fear his writings may amount to no more than balancing an eel on the end of his nose.

      • Jeremy says:

        ….If one citizen harms another then the state’s intervention is proper. If a cause can be identified it intervenes to eliminate the cause….

        Since alcohol is demonstrably the cause of much harm from one citizen to another, and cars are demonstrably the cause of much harm from one citizen to another also, do I take it that the State should eliminate the drinking of alcohol and the driving of cars?

      • Richard says:

        I am honoured that you should pay such kindly attention on my innocent encroachment into your rich pastures.

        Yes, I should have said ….seek to eliminate the cause…. Is it a question of balance, sir? If cannabis aids MS, then should its controlled use be permitted?

        I note there are laws which control traffic flow, the condition of vehicles and the consumption of alcohol by drivers.

      • Jeremy says:

        “…..there are laws which control traffic flow, the condition of vehicles and the consumption of alcohol by drivers…….”

        And, were the use of consciousness-altering drugs to become lawful, there could be similar laws that would help protect careless users from harm.

        There are two ways the State can deal with the use of consciousness-altering drugs – the current childish way; or the adult way.

      • Richard says:

        I am grateful that you did not throw me down the stairs but instead taught me an important lesson about compromise.

        Would that right- and left- wing politicians behaved the same. How mankind would benefit!

Leave a Reply

